• Home
  • News
  • Andriessen Festival - 22 February 2020

Andriessen Festival - 22 February 2020

In honor of Louis Andriessen, the Gelders Orkest, orkest de ereprijs, ArtEZ and Musis Arnhem are joining forces again. On Saturday 22 February the Andriessen Festival will take place in the Arnhem City Hall, with music from the greatest living Dutch composer and more.



20:00 - 21:00 RKST21
The Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra, orkest de ereprijs, ArtEZ and NJO join forces as RKST21 to discover the future of classical music. RKST21 plays works by upcoming composers and veterans of contemporary music under the direction of Clark Rundell and pays tribute to Dutch greatness and musical precursor Louis Andriessen.

We hear Vermeer Pictures (2005), a work for two pianos and a large ensemble. Commissioned by the Arnhem Philharmonic Orchestra, Ed Bennett wrote a new work for RKST21, with soloist Sterre Konijn. In addition, a new work by students Samuel Cohn and Yannick Wandel will premiere on Saturday, February 22.

Louis Andriessen - Vermeer Pictures (2005)
Ed Bennett - Belonging (2020, world premiere)
Samuel Cohn & Yannick Wandel - Miniature Gods (2020, world premiere)

21:00 - 21:15 Sebastiaan Kemner trombone
Luciano Berio - Sequenza V (1966)

21:15 - 22:00 Andriessen Legacy
In the Andriessen Legacy ensemble, musicians from orkest de ereprijs and ArtEZ form a project ensemble led by Clark Rundell, with soloist Sterre Konijn.

Steve Martland - Shoulder to Shoulder (1995)
Michael Torke - Overnight Mail (1997)
Richard Ayres - No. 51 (Resting Songs) (2017)

22:05 - 22:10 Jan Rokyta cimbalom
György Kurtág - Szálkák for cymbalum (1973)

22:10 - 22:30 Eva Tebbe harp & Michaela Riener singing
Kate Moore - The Open Road (2008)

22:30 - 23:30 Electra - ensemble for new music
Yannis Kyriakides - FACE (sculpture by Johannes Schwartz, text by Maria Barnas)

More information?
Date: Saturday 22 February 2020
Location: Stadhuis, Arnhem
Prices: entrance €20 | Student, CJP €15,00

Buy tickets via Musis & Stadstheater Arnhem


(Foto Louis Andriessen: Marco Borggreve)