Young Composers Meeting 2021

27th Young Composers Meeting: March 7 - March 12, 2021, Apeldoorn, The Netherlands 

Young Composers Meeting is an intiative by orkest de ereprijs to give young professional composers a chance to compose for an ensemble and develop their talents, knowledge and professional network.

During a week in Apeldoorn, The Netherlands, 16 selected participants will come together in which they work on their new composed piece for orkest de ereprijs and singers. The week is filled with rehearsals, lectures and individual coaching by senior composers. This year Martijn Padding, Richard Ayres, Dyane Donck, Tansy Davies and Florian Magnus Maier are the senior composers. Gerda van Zelm and Georgi Sztojanov are the vocal coaches for the singers. At the end of the week, all pieces will be performed during the final concert in Gigant Apeldoorn. After this, a jury of international senior composers will choose three participants with extraordinary talent to receive commissions.

Rob Vermeulen will conduct the orchestra during the Young Composers Meeting.

Applications for the Young Composers Meeting 2021 are closed

We will make a selection of maximum 16 participants. At the beginning of November the applicants will be informed about their acceptance.

The selected applicants are requested to enter a short work (3 minutes) for de ereprijs. The 3-minute compositions will be rehearsed during the week and performed at the final concert. The 3-minute work should be entered before January 15, 2021. Details concerning the instrumentation of de ereprijs will be communicated after the selection.

- The participation fee is €450,-, this includes accommodation and meals.
- The participants will stay in shared rooms in a hotel in Apeldoorn.
- The participants have to take care of their own transport to Apeldoorn.
- At the final concert, three promising composers will be commissioned to write a new composition.



- Frank van der Wal Fonds-commission: a new work for de ereprijs, to be performed during their many concerts. Fee: € 2.500,-
- orkest de ereprijs-commission: a new work for de ereprijs, to be performed during their many concerts. Fee: € 2.500,-
- Masterclass Apeldoorn-commission: a new work for chamber ensemble. Fee: € 1.500,-

Sunday 7 March 2021 | Opening concert YCM / RKST21 | Location t.b.a., Apeldoorn
8-11 March 2021 | Open rehearsals YCM | Gigant, Apeldoorn
Monday 8 March 2021 | YCM: lecture t.b.a. | Gigant, Apeldoorn
Tuesday 9 March 2021 | YCM: lecture t.b.a. | Gigant, Apeldoorn
Wednesday 10 March 2021 | YCM: lecture t.b.a. | Gigant, Apeldoorn
Thursday 11 March 2021 | YCM: lecture t.b.a. | Gigant, Apeldoorn
Friday 12 March 2021 | Final concert YCM | Gigant, Apeldoorn


Watch the YCM Interviews with previous participants, the list of Senior composers since the start of the YCM in 1995 and the list of YCM Laureats.